Beauty, over the ages

~*Editor’s Choice Pick at BlogJunta

~*Prize Winning Entry in Dove and Yahoo! Real Beauty Contest

Early Morning

Source: cplash.com

When the morning sun streams in from the window, Mom keeps her eyes tightly shut. She has been ill for a while now and can’t wake up with dawn as she used to. Her eyebrows are a wee bit scant, her hair thin. As I wake up and turn to my side, I refrain from kissing her forehead a Good Morning. I don’t want to wake her up just yet…

Mom gave up her job when I was in the Second Form. She appointed herself, you see, as a full-time teacher-cum-Mommy.

I am sure you will live to regret this decision.” a colleague of hers ominously announced, her shoulders drawn in a shrug. ‘Time lost can never come back.”

Granny says Mom walked down to the market that evening, barely a moment after placing her farewell bouquet in a vase. She bought me ice-cream as a treat for topping the Environmental Science class test. “I wish she knew Ma,” she told Granny as I relished my chocolate delight, “just how precious this time with my little girl is.

Wearing my hair in two thick little braids, bespectacled and tall for my age, I would walk into school every morning. History classes used to be a treat, Indian History being Mom’s graduation subject. I would climb down from the school bus in hot summer afternoons, the umbrella flipping away as I eagerly rushed into her waiting arms.

One of those days she was wearing a dark blue salwar suit. It had some dainty golden embroidery and the sleeves fell down in watery tufts. Over television that night, one of the soap heroines switched on the lights in her pink bedroom. “She’s wearing your suit Mamma!” I squealed as the same dark blue, golden embroidered piece of clothing filled the screen. “I will go check if mine’s still in safe keep.” Mom said from the kitchen. Giggling, I went back to my dinner. There was no comparison to Mom, I grimaced as the heroine went back to sleep with her make-up untouched and face unwashed.

Mom adores perfumes, keeping them for very select occasions. Dad never forgets buying her one every time he’s on a work trip. He gets me lots of clothes, gets Granny crockery and a collection of exotic tamarind and gifts Grandpa a new shirt-piece. But Mom revels in her pack of perfume, keeping the bottle safely in a drawer of the dressing table. There it is safe from the hands of vagrants and cats.

I love clicking her pictures when she is busy fidgeting with outdoor jewellery.”You must wear at least a necklace!” Granny pleads. “It’s a major family wedding.
But the guests are supposed to be interested in the bride aren’t they?” Mom makes a face, putting on the necklace reluctantly. Mom has a dusky complexion and claims dark colours do not suit her. By the time I argue that this belief system is almost the opposite of the fashionable truth, she is already dressed up in subtle red and white and puts off the argument to “...another day please“.

As memories from past years flash by my mind, I notice the sun is now up in the sky; the birds are out on their morning stroll. Mom moves about a little, caught in some distant dream. In another time, she would be up and about by now working her way through Dad’s credit card bills and bank statements, checking on the scheduled date at the dry cleaner’s and the tailor’s, assisting Granny in grinding onions and mashing potatoes and sending across a hello to the sleepy house-cat. She will be doing all of that again, very soon.

I look at the azure sky outside and smile as the sun warms my skin. It is a beautiful day. Just like, but a little less than my Mom.

— —

Beauty for me is what Mom brings to my life. A giggling camaraderie when I tell her love stories, a rapt ear when I lecture about a book I last read…a quiet radiance that lights up my morning, a simplicity that holds in its being all the grace in the world.

Moreover, I have noticed an interesting secret. The moment you enliven your true, beautiful self, every drop of the first rain and every spring flower seems blessed. The endless hours of anxiety over a stubborn blackhead or a frizzy bunch of hair are washed away with the downpour. Such woes can after all, be attended to at a one-stop online destination –Yahoo! Real Beauty. (From interesting food for thought to the best dietary food you can take to the solutions to your skin and hair problems, Yahoo! Real Beauty is a smart portal that can cater to all of that and much more. :D)

For real beauty, I believe, doesn’t lie about our person and can hence neither be taken away nor granted. It lies safe and sound, tucked away in our hearts, coming alive every time we love and are loved.

Dove Real Beauty on Yahoo! India

** Written as a part of the Dove and Yahoo Real Beauty Contest at Indiblogger. To vote and read more on Real Beauty, go here.

77 thoughts on “Beauty, over the ages

  1. Pingback: Ferreting out fossils for the 7×7 Award « Saddi Delhi

  2. Truly heart touching… and as everyone has already said, it reminds me of the sacrifices mothers have made in their lives to bring us up. Something that makes them go beyond just the mundane word- beautiful….

  3. Brilliant stuff…you’ve outlined it really well…

    The most priceless things in the world are those that money cannot buy. I’ve always believed that 🙂

    • Indeed Ashwathy. 😀 I believe in that old, delightful Master Card ad about “some things money cannot buy.” 😀
      Thanks a lot for dropping by… I’m glad you liked the post! 😀

  4. Dont have words to express how much I loved this post, Deboshree :). Felt a lump in my throat as I read through the post. I could easily relate your relationship with your mother as its very similar to what i share with mine and what I hope my daughter shares with me. Beautiful and immensely moving 🙂

    Wish you all the luck for the contest 🙂

    • Deeps, I guess its truly said that all mothers are somehow the same. There’s no competing with her love and the beauty she brings to life. 😀
      I am so glad you enjoyed the post so much!
      Thanks a ton…!! 😀

  5. I read this in the morning and thought I should wake up fully before commenting on such a beautiful post. But even now I’m a little spellbound. Really beautiful writing! I almost have an image in my mind for your wonderful mom. Mothers are the best. All the best for the contest! I thought I’d write something too but intimidated now 🙂

    • Ha ha 😀 yes, there’s something about Sunday morning slumber and with the weather we have in the capital, things couldn’t get dreamier.
      I am delighted you enjoyed the post so much D. Moms are indeed the very best.
      Thanks a lot 😀 and I would love to read from you in addition to the beautiful visual treats you keep supplying. 😀

  6. Deboshree…. That was such an emotional and moving post. I could vividly visualize my mother as I was reading through the post…. Moms are the best people in the world.There is no doubt about that 🙂 Best of luck for the contest. I hope you win.

    • Chhavi, exactly my thoughts. Moms make the world complete and just like everything else, our perception of all things beautiful also begins with them.
      Delighted you liked the post and thanks a lot! 😀

  7. But i am first to write a proper comment 🙂 and here it goes he hehe

    what you say is so right, I saw this competition and I could not think what to write or how can one definie beautiy as beautify is diffrent for each person.. we all have different idea .
    what beauty for me , may not be beauty for you.. I for a change love and like some of the horrible things ..

    MOTHERS .. awwwwwwwwwww bles syou .. A few weeks ago i had put a picture of my grandma.. Now tell me how can she be not beautiful ..

    WEll written , I really really liked this post…

  8. i loved it the way you brought in your beauty perspective through your mom…so true!! in everyone’s life..one person who we admire throughout for her elegance and beauty is our mom!!

    good one.. keep blogging 🙂

What do you think?