Winter In Pune

Mahabaleshwar near Pune

Mahabaleshwar, a hill station near Pune [www.tourindia365.com]

It actually is cold in Pune. I mean, my-fingers-are-numb kind of cold. After years of arguing with R about how Pune can never compete with Delhi in the winter department, it does seem like this quaint old city is up to the competition. No, I am not complaining. In fact, I am delighted.

These days, the sun rises later than usual which means we can steal in a few extra minutes of glorious, morning sleep. The birds also wait for it to be light, so there’s no energetic birdsong to make us regret still being in bed when the world outside is bright. The quilt feels magnificent and toasty like it never has before. It’s almost like home in Delhi again, when I can smell the steaming coffee and the masala omelette while still in bed. On my way to work, I warm my hands against the sun that streams in from the windows of the bus. The sun stays with me throughout the day, his reassuring and unceasing walk around the sky telling me there’s a world beyond my computer screen.

When evening arrives, it is cold enough to indulge in some hot, chicken soup. We chat about the day over the mist and think deliciously of winter curries – chickpeas, tomatoes, spinach and…uh, chicken. The city falls asleep earlier than usual, everyone tucking into bed to watch television or read that long unfinished book. Longer nights translate into more time to rest, unwind and count your blessings. They are blessings after all – a hearty dinner, a warm bed, a good book and a loved one to snuggle up with.

As I fall asleep, I sense the stars in the sky watching over us. The fog grows denser and the potted plants in our balcony close in on each other. They, unlike me, don’t particularly enjoy these long winter nights.

17 thoughts on “Winter In Pune

    • Welcome here, Parijat 🙂 Delighted you enjoyed it.
      Haha, yes, I guess can be made against Delhi’s nail-biting cold. But then again, the summer can also be excruciatingly hot and sticky!

  1. I love winter. Especially the days when there’s enough sunshine during the day to slightly warm you up. I was in Pune three years ago in December. I don’t remember much but I know I’ll go back someday to experience this special kind of winter. 😊

    • Exactly! That is the kind of sunshine that can even warm the soul 🙂
      When you come to Pune, make sure you tell me in advance. I will tell the sun to be extra nice 🙂

  2. This post wanted me to go back to my bed. But with the burning fireplace beside me and a cozy read like this I am going to make a cup tea to go with it and enjoy sipping while I read this post again, slowly this time. 🙂

    • The picture you paint here is so very beautiful! I think I too will make a cup of tea and go sit by the window to watch the birds fly home 🙂 Thank you so much for the lovely comment 🙂

  3. Loved the photo. . Reminds me of the cold winter mornings and all that fog over the fields and water.. back home..
    And we would get up and the first thing that was done was get the sticks together to put on fire and early morning bonfire..☺☺☺

    The beautiful good old days. . But then we had to grt ready to go to school ..that was not fair… He he he he

    • Bikram, such a beautiful memory! Winters are like that, no? Perfect for thinking about past days of glory and happiness…
      Haha that sounds ridiculously unfair! School on a beautiful day? Bah! 😀

What do you think?

