They Still Call This Music

I usually emerge at Hauz Khas Metro Station drained and hungry. The day has been long – though I guess a case could be made for my reduced vitality – and the metro ride has been nothing short of a lesson in survival. As each day passes by, I get increasingly more adept at holding on to the hand-rests, manoeuvering my way to the door and attending to important calls/messages without risking damage to my phone. When I travel home from the station – a trip that takes a good half an hour at best – I turn to FM Radio to let music exercise its healing powers. Not an altogether wise decision, as I proceed to tell you.

The good political leaders of our country usually start off my de-stressing exercise, prosecuting their predecessors and promising the moon in their reign. I visualize a country free of corruption and crime, poverty and hunger. In the battlefield of sorts I hear, one campaign after the other filling up air time, this visualization gives me more stress than I had attempted to alleviate. I switch channels.

Gandi baat, he claims. Gandi gandi gandi baat, she reiterates. Oh, they probably mean some of those particularly absurd campaigns I was referring to. I have had enough of those anyway so I switch channels again. The traffic around makes a huge row; people beep their vehicle horns like there’s no tomorrow. I attempt to tune the noise out and focus on the music. Main tera amplifier, someone sings in an unnatural accent. Who said I needed one? Amplifier – fier, he insists. Like I failed to get him the last time around, the patronizing fool. This time when I switch channels, I am less hopeful.

In the next series of attempts, I encounter someone who explains to me the merits of matching saris and their “fauls”, someone who teaches me primary school environmental science by claiming water (“paani”) is blue and some out-of-hand, already shameless kids pressing demands to continue being besharam all night. My frustration with “music” climbs unparalleled heights and I become more aware of how drained and hungry I had emerged at the metro station. When, as a last-ditch measure, I switch channels again, a disgruntled, poorly mechanized voice claims he takes in chaar bottle vodka every day. 

Really, all those who advocate listening to music to de-stress should add a disclaimer. Carry your music around (read MP3s of tracks you have handpicked as per your taste) or listen at your own risk.

24 thoughts on “They Still Call This Music

  1. Pingback: Red FM, Don’t Be Ridiculous | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  2. Pingback: Why Celebrating Halloween Doesn’t Make Me A Bad Indian | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  3. I somehow cant relate myself to the modern day music.. wish it stayed the same way we or rather I have grown up with .. with something meaningful and GOOD..

    I am hereeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 🙂

  4. Hahaha…I completely agree! I rarely listen to radio because there’s too much unnecessary talks and lots of new songs that I don’t get at all.

    MP3 all the way for me. I do have 1 radio channel that I like because it mixes old and new songs and the …. (insert the English word there for the people who do the talking and introducing the songs…are they called MC?) rarely talk.

    • Unnecessary is absolutely right, Novroz!
      That channel sounds good. We have one where they play old, melodious songs but I rarely get quality reception to that. Let me start on creating my playlists soon. To be safe, you know. 🙂

  5. This is the dark age of indian film music and music composers have choice of choosing what is right and what is easy. And you know easy one is always tempting. You can create a masterpiece on the go while creating divine tunes as in ‘निकल ना जाए हमरी बॉडी से प्राण रे… ‘
    –Albus Dumbledore

  6. “They Still Call This Music” makes me eulogize some unforgettable nostalgic music we heard in our society (Pune) outdoors last evening. A band display by an army band which belted some old hits Indian and Western and a few military popular numbers like ‘Sare Jahan se achha …’. Thank you.
    बहुत मज़ा आया 🙂

    • Good to see you here, Dilip. 🙂
      You talk of good music, Pune and evenings all in one thought. What more does one need to delight the soul? 🙂

      Hope to see you around more often!

  7. oh man!! These trending songs are terrible!! Gosh!! I keep wondering if the lyricist was high on something when he wrote it! So sad really..

  8. I share your view on music and its effects, it is better to make your compilation of songs and carry them around, you can try “taste of others” when you are in a really patient mood 🙂

    • Hey Sharmishtha, welcome to Saddi Delhi. 🙂
      Absolutely! Patience is a must-have virtue when you dabble in territory as risky as the music of today. 😉

      Hope to see you around more often!

    • Yes! And sadly, that’s the only station my phone doesn’t get good reception to. Ironical. Maybe I will re-tune the FM stations.

      Welcome to Saddi Delhi, Arch. 🙂

  9. The mayhem laden mainstream music is but an aftermath of the collective conscience of our times.which reduces a certain Bismillah Khan to obscurity but makes the vodka song and singer a household name. The parallels run to movies as well where we celebrate Khans bestowing them with every award ever created and creating some new one(s) too whilst silently the actors like Naseeruddin Shah toil in their relative tapestries.

    Someday perhaps, we shall discover the music again.

    • Welcome to Saddi Delhi, Abhishek. 🙂

      I couldn’t agree with you more. Our times have moved on, seemingly, but I sometimes wonder if we have actually regressed. As for movies, well, our tastes seem to have gone to the dogs. I find myself on the verge of giving up with our so called modern society.
      Hope to see you around more often!

What do you think?