There’s Something Very Special About This Morning

Schönbrunn Palace

It rained last evening, and well into the night. I didn’t see much of it as I was tucked in bed, tired out after the long walk in the gardens of the Schönbrunn Palace. I dreamt of the people who must have lived there years ago, their gowns and dresses long and flowing, their kitchens fragrant, their mornings occupied in tending to the glorious gardens. In fact, when I woke up this morning, I still felt half inside the palace, imagining myself to be a house-member, perhaps the princess who had two big, furry dogs and an apple strudel for breakfast every morning. It took me a while therefore to realize the skies outside had changed…

The winds are shaking the trees in our lane almost out of breath and there are goosebumps on my skin. The sun is lazy and reluctant to work. This morning is special and the changing weather agrees. Sit back at home, it says. Sit back and drink hot coffee, munch on some cookies, and plan a glorious evening. After all, it is R’s birthday!

We will venture out in the beautiful Viennese evening later today. There will be a violin playing somewhere in the background and the whiff of steaming hot kebaps making us hungry for dinner. Miles away, Pune must be missing us today. She probably has on a million colours of Ganesh Chaturthi, the lights, music and modaks making her evening beautiful too.

I am glad we have two beautiful worlds to be a part of, R. The one we now walk in, hand in hand, and the one in our memories, preserved and unfading. I wish you many more such beautiful worlds in our lifetime, R. Just remember to always share them with me! Happy birthday, my best friend.  ❤

*             *             *

Find out more about#MicroblogMondays by clicking the badge below:

Microblog Mondays

6 thoughts on “There’s Something Very Special About This Morning

  1. Pingback: Smell-o-Philia | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

What do you think?

