Resurrection

I wait for the weekend the entire week, counting the remaining days on my fingers till I can squeal in delight over how there’s no alarm clock the next morning. When I leave for work every day, my balcony is already flooded with tremendously inviting sunshine – the kind that makes me reconsider the point of leaving the house. When the weekend arrives, I tell myself, I will lap up as much sunshine as I can, sitting out in a green-field with a picnic basket and a book.

I lived out a two-day weekend recently and did just that, never mind how the green field was mostly my bed and the picnic basket a Chinese takeaway. I did enjoy the sun on a particularly warm late afternoon, when R and I ventured out into a world that seemed freshly laundered. Sleep, I have heard, does that to you, especially when you get it after a long, zombie-like time.

Tomorrow is the Indian Republic Day and many offices, as well as my productivity meter, will remain shut. But logically, a case can be made for the healing power of sleep, food and idle thought. Those three in an unending loop are what I often need to revive myself from murderous routines, romance killers, bloodsucking commutes and demoralizing workdays. To be honest, it isn’t even a revival; it’s a resurrection.

*             *             *

Find out more about#MicroblogMondays by clicking the badge below:

Microblog Mondays

18 thoughts on “Resurrection

    • Absolutely Mel. A mid-week day off becomes a must to keep yourself from draining out completely before the weekend arrives.
      Cheers to next weekend. May it come soon! 😀

  1. I once spent a whole day doing nothing while sitting half way up a hill in a conservation area in the middle of summer. After a couple of hours of contemplating the surroundings, my mind started contemplating life in general and where I fit into it! It was a very interesting, enlightening and “stabilizing” experience! 🙂

    • That sounds perfectly magical, Colin. I bet it must have indeed been a thoroughly stabilising experience – one that doesn’t happen too often but should. We all need to take time out to contemplate life and where it’s heading, so lost we are in the mad rush!

What do you think?

