A Loaded Morning

I woke up this morning to a distinct feeling of déjà vu, probably brought on by the familiar strands of music from the window and the aroma of freshly baked buns at Good Luck Café, Pune. This is my last stop at Pune before the wedding and we are here to shop for furniture for the new flat which will be the first house R and I move into as a married couple (*jumps*). I feel more grown-up than before, and yet an absolute child when it comes to gazing at bright upholstery, home décor and colourful cushions.

Pune has always been close to heart, as those who were here when “Saddi Delhi” was “Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune” will vouch for. Come March, we will move again to the city of delectable German Bakery cookies, impressive Crossword bookstores, and breath-taking hills and beaches within weekend-getaway distance.

There is anticipation in the air today, as well as trepidation, when I realize that this Monday is only the first in several that I will be waking up to in Pune – not as a student or a singles-club professional, but as a married woman who still needs to learn to cook and tie a sari properly. This is more serious thinking than the beautiful morning allows. I think I will instead order for coffee, sit by the window, and admire the azure sky so full of promise and poetry.

*             *             *

Find out more about#MicroblogMondays by clicking the badge below:

Microblog Mondays

16 thoughts on “A Loaded Morning

  1. I so know what you mean. I took a break from work about a month before my wedding, just to be home and soak in the surroundings, the city and the family. I was sure I wouldn’t get that again, once I got married. On one hand, there was the nagging feeling in my mind telling me to get responsible, get my blouses stitched, learn cooking properly and pack up my belongings. Another part of me just wanted to laze around and soak in more of everything around me at home and outside. 🙂

    I have been to Pune only once, as a stopover while going to Lonavala. I liked the city, though we didn’t get a chance to explore much. Seriously, it has wonderful Crossword stores? I didn’t know!

    • You said it perfectly. That’s exactly how I felt too! Time can be such a cheat. It flies away before you know where you are.

      Do stop over at Pune the next time you can. We have a wonderful city here. 🙂 Yes, the Crossword stores are brilliant!

  2. Congrats! Sounds like so much (wonderful) change will be happening soon.
    After many years, I still feel like a kid at times when it comes to buying bigger household items. 🙂 And fabrics? colors? themes? Ugh!

    • The perks of WordPress scheduling, shhh. 😉 But it is becoming increasingly difficult and the blog is preparing to go on a wedding break. 😛
      Thanks a lot for your warm wishes. Please keep them coming. 🙂

  3. A beautiful narrative of a super morning in Pune. It’s on my visit list for next time.
    Never underestimate the importance of wrapping a sari..Just as important as cooking and shopping…and getting married. Enjoy and all the best ahead of the Big Day.

  4. Hey, you’re getting married! Wonderful news! Congratulations Debo and heres wishing and your R and rollicking life together! Hope you will be in Delhi when I am there in summer 🙂

What do you think?

