The Big-Bong Wedding Larder

Bengali Wedding Food

*Picture from The Hindu

With my housemates gearing up for the wedding in February, there’s ceaseless discussion on food. The talks gather steam after I am back from work. Though delicious in themselves, the talks render bland whatever it is that I am snacking on. You see, how can I be expected to cherish a sandwich when people are deliberating upon chicken kosha, mutter-paneer and daal tadka? I sit drooling and chewing, wishing the day were upon us already. It is another story – quite sad really – that I will not be able to enjoy any of the delicious food that is being planned. The bride and groom will sit atop the stage, smiling beatifically for the shutterbugs, as the guests lick off their plates.

“How many types of fish will we have?” a friend of mine asked cheerfully. “I am expecting at least three. After all, it is a Bengali wedding. Will there be hilsa?”

“I suppose so.” I tried to casually remember how hilsa looked but I am afraid I wasn’t discreet enough. “Oh, I had forgotten. You are only a pseudo-Bengali. The no-fish-eating type.” Ha, so much for wearing Mom’s best sarees on Durga Puja and memorizing Bengali hymns as a child of five. My abstinence from fish renders me a pseudo-Bengali among most people I associate with.

On the other hand, a lot of people R knows assume I am a “Bong from Kolkata”. “So R,” they declare loudly, “you will now be off to Kolkata for fuchka and chingree maach every now and then!” (Read panipuri/golgappa and prawns, respectively) “Actually, she is a Delhi-ite.” R ventures. “Oh, all Bongs are Kolkata-ish in their hearts.” I wonder what that implies. Do all Gujaratis live in Ahmedabad or all Punjabis in Punjab? Last I heard, this wasn’t the case. What is worse is that since I have spent very little time in Kolkata, I am not always up to conversation pertaining to localities, landmarks and eating joints. I don’t fancy the chicken-and-egg dishes and prefer coffee to tea. All this again renders me a pseudo-Bengali. Sheesh, this is almost an identity crisis.

Meanwhile, the family keeps the larder stocked “in case friends and relatives hop over”. There’s tonnes of goodies to ensure I need to substantially up my resolve for diet management. Brilliant method to teach a bride-to-be self- control.

“Will you continue to like aloo-luchi next year or will litthi-chokha be your new favourite?” The friend who calls me a pseudo-Bengali pretended to be perturbed.

I too am slightly perturbed. I sincerely hope that the cameramen, the wedding finery and the shehnaayi will succeed in keeping R and my minds off the aroma of food.

*I am willing to discuss in-depth any of the food items mentioned in the post. 😀

17 thoughts on “The Big-Bong Wedding Larder

  1. i can relate to some of these and then i can also tell you that you will not be able to relish the food anyway :p with the clothes and the jewellery loaded on me, i was barely able to breathe and smile !!!

    oh this made me so nostalgic.
    And i wish i can have another wedding, the fun way .. you know, dressed light and stuffed with food 😀

    many congratulations again.

    • Oh yes the jewellery and the clothes! Nimue, I have cold feet about it all but interestingly, I cant wait for the day to be here.

      I think your idea is great! We must both have that!

      Thanks a lot for the warm wishes Nimue. Hugs.

  2. Pingback: So long, 2014 | Saddi Delhi

  3. I was invited to a wedding in India in January but cannot make it! I was most excited about the outfits, the colors and the music! I didn’t even think about all the delicious food that would be there! (T.T)

  4. The first thing I did was to eat my fill at my wedding! There was Paani-puri and all those yumm stuff!
    As soon as the guests thinned, I shot a look at K and since he was hungry as well, we disappeared for an hour to the buffet and hogged! 😛

  5. “My abstinence from fish renders me a pseudo-Bengali among most people I associate with.” – Tumne toh mere mooh ki baat cheen li. I avoid fish as well and am not considered Bong enough.

  6. Talking from the experience of wedding of my two sisters, it will be a miracle if you manage to notice the decoration of the venue even. There won’t be any leisure to think about food. As I remember it, by the time we, the family of the bride, got the time to eat, our hunger had eaten itself. It was only later in photographs and videos that we found out how the wedding venue looked like and how the menu we had fixed might have tasted like 🙂

    • You sound utterly comforting, Jyoti. 😛 I have to agree with you though. It was much the same when my cousins got married. However, I managed to sample some of the food. 😀

      I will remember you on the wedding when my hunger eats itself. 😀

What do you think?

