An All-Weather Celebration

Kaleidoscope

I am a peculiar person. No trust me, I am. I go into a hibernation hole when there is winter in life. In my igloo, I have but a handful of people, a mindful of memories and a sprinkling of hope. When winter subsides and the snow begins to melt, I spread out my wings. And then, there is no stopping my flight.

When in the shower, I switch on a customized playlist. I turn the water off during my favourite bits of the songs. True to Dad’s favourite way of treating me, I treat myself to pastries for breakfast. I then spend time in front of the mirror trying to gauge just how I look in the new clothes I bought for myself. My silver earrings flutter in the breeze from the window and I forget how I claim I cannot dance.

Then, in surly autumn days, I do not like certain people coming and visiting. I feel I can see right through them. They sit there munching crispies and drinking tea but are actually trying to seek a hole in the curtain or a cobweb behind the wall. I make faces at these people when they are not looking.

Then there are people whose goal in life is to make us believe that their son has the best job America has to offer. Also, the house they built after selling off their old one for xx.xx crore is ravishing enough to invite the US President for a meal. So? I never have an idea how we are supposed to react after these people are done. What I usually do is shake their hand and ask them to send photographs of their mansion to some lifestyle magazine.

There are times when clouds gather in the sky overhead and thunder growls in the distance. When drops of rain get trapped between the green leaves of my window-side plant, I click a picture. I then grow sad. The picture doesn’t have that. That magic. I click another and then give up the idea. It is so much better to sing out aloud and think of all that is beautiful in life. Little kids playing with paper boats. Typing out a story on the laptop. Talking to my beloved for hours together, about nothing of much consequence.

My career is important to me. I like to see things acquire a shape, an order. I slave for days and nights together to achieve a goal I have set for myself. It is all the more joyous when I know that what I am working at is what I have always wanted to do. To have support systems – human – who also enjoy seeing me enjoying is a blessing. I do not have to face a dilemma of choosing one over the other.

I do not like my dreams to be tampered with. They are mine. I do what defines me best. ‘My’ people happily chug along for they trust my decisions and believe in me. Yes, I have my bad hair days – and I mean that literally too – and days when I feel like a queen. There are also days when I expect people to treat me like one. I am lucky to have an all-weather world with people who know best how to keep my insanity at bay.

Celebration for me equals love. Respect. Faith. Life, in its kaleidoscopic bitter-sweet moments, ensures I get enough. What is a celebration anyway without its fair share of popped balloons and fallen cakes? In any case, I am hardly fixated. Oh come on. I listen to everybody. I give them all a fair chance. And then, I do exactly what I want.

~

Wishing you all a very happy Women’s Day!

Sorted out, very-there or just totally insane, you’re worth a celebration!Β πŸ˜€

* Written as a part of Women’s Web “Celebrating Myself” contest. Picture fromΒ goldenfingers.info
24 thoughts on “An All-Weather Celebration

  1. Happy Womens day to u too and wish u had a very colorful holi…aka dilli style πŸ˜€
    being a women I totally agree with u, life, career, friends, family..not an easy task to manage and sometimes women has to sacrifice their goals or have to change their priorities..its becomes so complicated.
    hey..no body tells me US Presi is tasting gulab jamuns !!! I should have sent mine too :D..sweet sugar bombs…:D

    • Oh yes, I had a nice and dry Holi Sukanya. πŸ˜› How was yours?
      Ditto on what you said about women. Sometimes you have to forget you are but a human but hey, our ‘super’ management makes us so much cuter. πŸ˜‰

      Ha ha sugar bombs sound awesome! Next time I get those people, I know whom I am calling. πŸ˜€

  2. Such a lovely post!

    “I listen to everybody” too. πŸ˜€ In fact, if they don’t tell me anything, sometimes i even ask them for an opinion. “And then, I do exactly what I want.” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I soooo love the way you write, girl! I hope you win this one. Really. Like, REALLY!

    • Ha ha, wow. Asking for an option is so much more inclusive. I must try that out too Priya! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      Thanks a lot though… delighted you enjoyed the post! πŸ™‚

  3. πŸ™‚ lovely post. and my dad always said Suno sabki karo apni.. πŸ™‚

    no harm in saying yes to all those who keep giving advice but when it comes to actually doing it listen to your heart.. πŸ™‚

    I dont beleive in these Day’s.. as to me each day is same and SHOULD be same , why just one day .. so heres wishing you the whole of 365 days of Happy Woman’s day πŸ™‚

    and happy holi tooo although i doubt that would be a nice idea for 365 days playing holi πŸ™‚

  4. What a post Debo!!
    simply loved the second last paragraph..and of course the entire write up too..
    All the best for the contest..

    PS : to invite the US President for a meal???LOL!! made my day πŸ˜€

    • Thanks a lot Bhavia..!! πŸ˜€
      No seriously ya, there are people who look at you like that. The we-served-the-President-gulabjamuns-for-dessert type. πŸ˜›

  5. Oh My God, I LOVED this post, absolutely! Every word of it πŸ™‚
    And of course my favorite lines would be ” I listen to everybody. I give them all a fair chance. And then, I do exactly what I want.”
    Love it love it love it. Wish you a very happy woman’s day!

  6. U have said so much Debo that I really do not know where to start commenting on. I have my bad hair days too and recently there have been many 😦 People.. well what can I say… But then recently I have also broken of from such people and now am with whom I respect and trust. Career, I wanted something but got something else but do not know what is in the future.
    But hey good bad, or horrible, I am happy that whatever situation I found myself in, I have done justice to all my roles πŸ™‚
    Happy Women’s Day to u 2

    • Bhagya, hugs. πŸ™‚
      The bad hair days have been many with me too in recent times. I then have to snack on my favourite food and indulge in a hair bath. πŸ˜‰ Good decision with the people…only the ones who are trust-worthy matter.

      Totally agree with the last bit of your comment. Way to go! A very happy women’s day to you too Bhagya and I am sure you will continue doing justice to all the roles life brings to you. πŸ˜€

  7. Haha… “I listen to everybody. I give them all a fair chance. And then, I do exactly what I want.” Loved this line, as this is what I do too πŸ˜‰

    Best wishes, Deboshree for women’s day, the contest, for your dreams to come true, everything… πŸ™‚

    • Good to find a twin Sudha. πŸ˜‰ I maintain that the heart is the best judge, more often than not.
      Thanks a ton for all those lovely wishes… wish you a truck load of bliss too! πŸ˜€

  8. happy women’s day to u too! such a lovely post this is!i think most of us atleast women are all weather people πŸ™‚ we just love the way we can adapt and change to anything and everything. πŸ™‚

    • Completely agree Vinitha! The ability to adapt and adjust is great and so long as a line can be drawn when it comes to confusing ‘adapt’ and ‘compromise’, all else is great too.
      Thank you so much by the way. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

