Saying Hello to Food

Food, I have found, is an enormous help when it comes to combating mood swings. And falling in love with food is one of my newly acquired gifts.

As a child, I was the model kid in the block. You know, the one who never badgers you for a chocolate or a lollypop. Or a samosa or a panipuri. Or a burger or a pizza. It’s another story that we lived in an age when Pizza and Facebook hadn’t conquered minds. But anyway, you get the point. So whenever a mama or chacha would drop by with goodies for the baby, the baby wouldn’t be too happy. Those were the occasions when you’d be required to sample the food so that the guest could be sure you’d liked it. And I had very proper notions about eating. The quintessential no chaat-no fried-no sadak-ka-khaana school.

Even in my growing up days, food remained a very mundane chore. Meal times were something you had to get done with. Yes, they gave some scope for family conversations but in a small family like ours, that has never been a point at contention. Granny would be ready with my lunch when I returned from school and I would eat and do my homework simultaneously, often forgetting what I had eaten the moment I finished. Granny of course, loved the arrangement, considering she could overload the plate with karela and palak and I wouldn’t lift an eyebrow. So basically, the taste or the fulfillment factor of food is something that has always eluded me. I never knew it existed.

In the past two years however, I have discovered new territories. Thanks to Pune’s novel scenarios that forced me to meet the ‘taste’ in food – or the lack of it – I have now realized what I had been missing. It helps that the man is an out-and-out foodie who can stand anything but tasteless khaana. I am now well versed with the delights that lie in freshly cooked kababs, in good, hot soup and in the roadside dhaba that sells sponge dosas. I adore panipuri and like them spicy and soft and no longer do I turn up my nose at the pakoras that the perspiring bhaiya diligently fries.

Now, whenever I feel blue and nothing seems to change that colour, I try my best to reminisce and capture the whiff of good-old Pune and get Granny to cook me a nice new recipe. She obliges, only to groan when I drag her to a rigorous work-out session.

27 thoughts on “Saying Hello to Food

  1. Pingback: Four Years of Pune | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  2. you know, I never taste Indian food my whole life. how does it taste? spicy?
    I love spicy food

    I only eat what I can find, I am not a food adventurer like Bikram there. And when I am feeling blue, I tend to play with my turtle or hear my number 1 band

    • Indian food is delicious Novroz. Trust me, I am not biased here. Moreover, if you like spicy food, your taste buds will have a great time.
      Oh yes, spending time with pets and listening to music are standard anti-woes. Almost always work. 😀

  3. Ok Wow girl. U are sitting on a treasure trove of delicacies in Dilli. U need to start from Chandni Chowk & work urself out in circles. That city bursts of food, flavours & fun.

  4. Oh Deboshree! I have always been a foodie and a rather finicky one at that. Mamma’s daal was never good enough for me when I was living with my parents. Now that I live away from them home food is all that my heart desires although I won’t deny that roadside delicacies still have a special place in my heart 😦
    I am glad you have fallen in love with food. Welcome to the club 😀

    • Exactly my thoughts Chhavi. Its so weird how you realize the importance of things only when you are deprived of them. This teaches me again to not take anything for granted.
      I am having a great time being a part of the club. Thank you! 😀 😉

  5. Hehehe…for me, the best food has always been mom’s…and i’m not kidding. thr are times when i’ve had food from those “awesome eateries”, wrinkled my nose and told amma “you’re the best!” 😀

    • Ha ha…totally Priya. Moms cook the best food. For me its Granny who does. There are dishes that are Granny-special and no restaurant in the world can dream of holding a candle to them. 😀

  6. I am so missing my granny after reading this post 😦 Summer vacations were meant to get Granny to make all things we liked all day long 🙂 What patient and dedicated women grannies are 🙂

  7. I was a picky eater (Psst.. my family will insist that I am still a picky eater) till I started commuting to Pune for college (we stayed in Lonavla then). And then I discovered vaishali, and ayani, and marz-o-rin, and Kawre ice cream and what not. Now I am a self-confessed foodie (Psst… my family will beg to differ, but don’t listen to them) 😀

    • Aha, so Pune has converted, so to speak, several of us. 😀 Vaishali was one of my first discoveries as well though I haven’t tried marz-o-rin. Where’s this Sudha?
      Being a foodie is great. But I wonder why your family differs on this accord. Hmm. Is there a picky eater still lurking behind that self confessed foodie? I wonder.

      • Marz-o-rin is on Main street near Wonderland. It serves the yummiest sandwiches and milkshakes… mmmm 😀

        As for my family considering me to be a picky eater, its because I hate coconut and traditionally we use a lot of coconut in Tamilian cooking.

        • Thanks! I have noted that down for future reference. 😉
          Oh yes. Even I detest coconut and avoid coconut based dishes but of course, coconut appears in our meals as a delicacy or on special occasions only.

  8. Ah you see Man’s weakness is his belly. Man can be seduced by food. I love food, I love making food. During my time at University, the last Friday of every month I use to make evening dinner for close friends. Did this for 5 years and till this day they remember.

    I too have travelled miles to taste a particular dish, and never regret exploring food.

    • I have to agree with you on that, British Asian Blogger. Exploring food can never be disappointing. Even if you do not take to a particular cuisine/item, you are wiser for the experience.
      Your dinner experience for instance. I am sure all that cooking must have been. 🙂

  9. Well, I guess I have traveled in the opposite direction than yours. As a child I used to love all stuff fried. Vegetables and pulses were things that had to be repulsed because mom insisted on my eating them. But when it came to pakoras and bread rolls and all such fried goodies, I could never have them enough. But now, seems like I have become bored of all such things. Of course, doctors have advised me to shun them too, but if I just consider my taste, the pleasure in food has just vanished. Don’t know why.

    • We sure have had diverse childhoods when it comes to food Jyoti. Good food is essential for a good life – I sound like one of those ads don’t I? 😀
      But seriously, though I too would advise you to go with what the doctor says, I hope you are reintroduced to to the pleasures of tasty khaana. :)… take care.

  10. I am opposite I LOVE FOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDdddd and I have travelled miles sometimes to taste something … someone said that there is a Chicken place which makes lovely tikka I drove there for an hour to taste it 🙂

    but you see now you being selfish , eating all that lovely food you should share the recipe toooo so people like me can also taste delicious foood OR courier it 🙂 jaldi jaldi

    • Wow, chicken tikka sounds interesting. 😀 I haven’t had one in some time.
      My Granny cooks amazing food – and I am surprised I haven’t received some of her culinary genes.
      Ha ha… sure thing. The next time there’s something exciting in the kitty, I will courier it to you. You will only need to warm it up in the oven. Which brings me to – why haven’t we got some of that tikka to sample yet? 😀

What do you think?

