Letters to my love…

No Little Letter, I have qualms about sending you via post.

What if you are lost in a scary traffic jam? The postman may decide he has had enough of the vicious Delhi traffic and abandon his bicycle in the middle of the road. Then you, along with the others letters in his kitty, will troop all the way down to the asphalted roads, breathing your last as speeding vehicles crush you to dust. No! I won’t let that happen.

Come to think of it, I don’t want you to absorb a filthy river-side fragrance either. Last time I drove that way, the poor poor Yamuna was still iceberg-ed with rubbish heaps. To say nothing of the less than delightful aroma the icebergs lent to the air. I can’t stand you reaching your destination smelling like something the cat just dragged in.

It’s an overnight journey to Pune, if you are going by train. Who knows of the kind of dangers that may be lurking on the railway? The infamous nightlife of Delhi – or shall I say “crime-life” – may rip you to pieces and snatch away all your warmth before you can even realize what’s happening. Is it really worth the risk? Do not give me arguments about the adventures of train travelling. You will be sealed in your envelope and there won’t be many sights and sounds for you to devour in any case.

If you are going by road, I can understand the excitement. The Delhi roads are to die for – even better now owing to the entire Commonwealth scene. The lanes are lush, the ride buttery. Errm, you have a point there.

But, it’s way too long a route for you to cover alone. Yes I know there will be other letters, going to their respective destinations, decked up in colours of celebration or immersed in those of sorrow. But they will be strangers sweetheart and you don’t make friends with people you don’t know well.

So, I have decided. You are not going by post. You are going through the tunnels of the World Wide Web – across the SMTP guarded alleys – straight into the inbox of the one you want to greet. And once you are there, little one, be sure to shine out the brightest of the lot. Now listen well as I tell you all the words you need to carry… πŸ˜€

45 thoughts on “Letters to my love…

  1. Pingback: Of Stinking Home Pages, Mailboxes and Folders « Saddi Delhi

  2. Another beautiful post! I love writing letters hand written letters though its been almost a year since I wrote and actually sent one. The process of waiting for it to reach and then waiting for an answer.. The anticipation it creates. Much of that charm is lost in the instant communication of email ..of well, the price of development.

    • Hand written letters are indeed in a league of their own. The whole premise of writing one, sending it – dropping it into a letterbox – waiting for a reply… it’s an amazing cycle. E-mail is much more direct and in its directness and speed, the romance is lost to an extent. But oh well, the price of development like you said. Thanks Dhaami! πŸ˜€

  3. And the letter did not protest it?

    I’d have thought the letter would’ve much rather preferred its individuality on paper, a nice decoration by way of postage stamps, a lovely envelope to sit in, and most importantly the sights along the way.

    Instead it dissolved into amorphous bits, each no different from the other!

    Surely, the letter would’ve protested this digital anonymity.

    • Oh you make that sound so romantic. What a fascinating journey letters have.

      Well, if Little Letter protested, it was a silent one because he neatly sat into the mouth of the tunnel and reached safe and sound in a jiffy. He didn’t bat an eyelid save for when I cancelled his road-trip idea.

      But yes, the poor thing did lose his individuality – such a mess all those bits must have made. But I need to think of my own end needs you see. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for dropping by Anil! πŸ™‚

  4. Interestingly written…

    Since the short time I have followed you, your writing has changed so much…
    I wish I could write with such fluency and frequency…

    I miss writing letters and recieving letters..

    All I recieve on post now is the bills and ads..
    πŸ™‚

    • Thanks a lot Shuba!
      It’s so heartening to know you are enjoying my work… you made my evening. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Ha ha I detest those kind of ‘letters’. The world would be a happier place without them.

  5. Very well written and what imagination you have!:) Are you a writer or a programmer(SMTP)? I’d bet on the programmer. πŸ™‚ The last time I wrote a letter was some ten years back when I was 10. I wrote to my sister telling her how much I missed her and she was so impressed and overwhelmed that she wrote me back. πŸ˜€ I’ve still preserved that letter.

    I’ve missed so many posts here. Need to catch up soon before you write another post. πŸ˜€

    • Ajay – thanks a lot! πŸ˜€ Ha ha I would much more love to be called the former though the latter is correct too. πŸ˜€
      Oh wow, that must have been a cute letter. I remember writing to my Granny in Chandigarh when she would send me money for my birthday…letter writing is such a vanishing art. It’s sad…

      Yep, I look forward to hearing your feedback. Delighted you liked this write-up! πŸ˜€

  6. but the nostalgia of those blue inland letter hmmm , we are loosing so much in this world of SMS, email and all …

    I still love those snail mails and ahve some prized possession when my dad or friends or relatives wrote to me during school days ..

    BUT i loved your post and the way you have written it πŸ™‚

    • Oh the inland letter is much missed. Indeed, nothing can compare with the excitement of getting a letter by post…esp. when we were kids.

      I too have collected letters from yester years… cousins, aunts… they make for such a lovely down memory lane.

      Glad you liked the post Bikram. Thanks a lot! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. That’s a great imagination..My last letter by post was a love letter..Now I wish I hadn’t send that, at least should have send by email. Don’t know where that letter is 😦

  8. Good imagination,loved it…

    I used to write letters to my mom when i was newly married and my mom was not that versed with computers.Later on she learnt how to mail me and read my letters,we both stopped writing….

    • Oh that must have been lovely… writing to your Mom about your new life. πŸ˜€ Yes, email is so very useful when it comes to getting the message across quickly.
      Delighted you liked it Saritha! πŸ˜€

  9. u forgot to mention the name of the recipient and the contentns, Deboshree πŸ˜‰ without that, all this excitement is halved right πŸ˜€

    wonderful imagination for sure..!

    • Ha ha ha πŸ˜€ But I am afraid, the little one is scared of people… he is devoted to the recipient only, to whom he will bare all. πŸ˜€
      Thanks Vinay! Glad you liked reading… πŸ™‚

  10. A friend and i used to write a few years back. Back when i was in pune and he in kol. We decided speedpost was the best compromise between indian postal service and dtdc.
    nothing conveys as much as ink on paper…

    • Oh yes. Speed post is a good option. I resort to it for official communication.
      Can’t agree more about the ink on paper thing – seeing handwriting works wonders. But for a letter a day, the doctor suggested e-mail. πŸ˜€

  11. haha… Yes… Must use the internet and save paper too!

    Don’t want to risk the message being lost, no? πŸ™‚
    How do you think of this stuff?! Hehe

    • Oh yes. Saving paper is a major plus that supports the decision! πŸ˜€
      Ha ha yep. Can’t risk losing the letter… I was thinking along these lines while sending an e-mail earlier last evening. The speed of the write-send-done process hit me afresh. πŸ˜€

  12. πŸ™‚ Cute…… Sending your letter online is definitely a safer option… now let me think… when did i last post a letter?… i think it was in the 6th or seventh standard πŸ™‚

    • Exactly. And so much quicker. The joys of a hand written note never die but then they are good for more direct dealings…
      Oh, mine was also many years ago. At least 2-3 years back.

What do you think?

