Now you can get your “Maa Exchanged”!

Maa Exchange

I have a little cousin who often claims her friends’ at school have pocket-money-paying mommies. She isn’t given any to avoid typhoid-causing-lollies-from-the-street and that is major cause for grievance. “If you were *Shikha’s mom, you’d have listened to what I say!” she declared all teary-eyed over breakfast one day. Masi complains the child throws tantrums. I am generally all in favour of discipline and restraint, but there was something about television yesterday that made me do a double take.

On the telly now, you can actually get your Mom exchanged. In a show on Sony TV, predictably called “Maa Exchange“, they allow you a motherly paradigm shift.

I was first enlightened when I caught something on Sony that didn’t seem CID-ish.Β I had been under the impression that the dynamic crime solving team (along with theirΒ forensicΒ expert who always had clues lining up outside his laboratory door) had bought the channel rights. So naturally I was attentive when I saw a visual with arrows pointing in opposite directions – one to our very own Ms. Sawant and the other to some comedian I am afraid I can’t name.

Ms. Sawant’s mother – with a large bindi on her forehead – told the comedian (who looked plump or it could be the clothing of course) that she would get her down to Rakhi’s vital statistics in ten days. They would just trash the butter. She was used to servants, the lady said, well fed and salaried by darling daughter. So she didn’t exactly have culinary skills considering she had gotten out of habit. Oh my.

On the other hand, Rakhi taught her new Mom some leg-raising and hip shaking dance steps and claimed she wasn’t allowed to look at food. It takes some maintenance I am sure, keeping up that enviable figure. New mom is now searching for a suitable groom for dancer daughter and is interviewing random men for the purpose. A few claim to be madly in love with Rakhi and look a little wrong in the head. (I am sure there’s no connection between the two events.)

A commercial break arrived to the rescue just as my mouth threatened to open and shut like a goldfish for the nth time. Daya and Abhijeet were back at detecting clues for the newest murder in town.

I wonder if masi has heard about the show. I better warn her against it.

*name changed
23 thoughts on “Now you can get your “Maa Exchanged”!

    • Exactly. Either they take the audience to be asinine or just enjoy watching their own show… anyhow, these shows are so bad they’re funny when you’re willing to endure nonsense for a little while. πŸ˜€

  1. Ha ha ha ha

    Few days back my nephew told my sister that hence forth he will call me mom and my husband dad as my sister is loving my kids more than him (maybe he got influenced by ma exchange which my sister watches)

  2. Pingback: Diamonds at 20 a piece « Saddi Delhi

    • Ha ha ha you have been very wise I must say. I didn’t see any promos, wasn’t aware of the show and was thus caught unguarded.
      LOL glad you enjoyed the post T! πŸ˜€

    • Ha ha ha you have been very wise I must say. I didn’t see any promos, wasn’t aware of the show and was thus caught unguarded.
      LOL glad you enjoyed the post T! πŸ˜€

  3. I think that would be fair warning to your maasi, Deboshree! Don’t think she’d want herself exchanged, the lollipop might seem a better alternative.. (I’m sure she could find a hygienic one πŸ˜‰ )

    • Exactly Vinay. A lollipop would be far easier and safer an option than getting herself exchanged for someone else’s Mom. Yikes… such a scary proposition! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€
      I will look into the hygienic part for her perhaps…

  4. πŸ™‚ rakhi seems to be everywhere ,,,

    we have a serial here called wife swap.. where wife is swapped and sometimes its hilarious as different people behave differently …

    But no matter what i wont get my mum exchanged she is and has always been the best …

    • Oh yes Rakhi is ubiquitous. πŸ˜€ she’s the queen of ‘reality’ TV.
      Wife swap? Ugh that sounds equally horrible. I can understand the hilarity but maybe I just don’t have the appetite for all this swapping… those swapping algos in Maths were never my favourite. πŸ˜›

      Totally agree about the Mom part. Mine is the best too. πŸ˜€

  5. Deboshree!!! Ha ha ha… Thank you so much for making me laugh….. This show is one of its kind… I wonder how my mother will react if I get her exchanged πŸ˜‰

    • I am glad Chhavi. πŸ˜€ If nothing else, it makes for some comic relief… it’s so bad it’s funny! πŸ˜€
      LOL our mothers will certainly go into shock if that happens. πŸ˜›

What do you think?

