Image

When the sun goes down…

Sunset in Chittaranjan Park, Delhi's mini-Kolkata

Sunset in Chittaranjan Park, Delhi’s mini-Kolkata

The momos in the local market (market no. 2 to be precise) run out by this time. Crowds of gossiping school kids gape at how long they have discussed Twilight (and other matters of critical importance) and decide it’s time to attend to their daily tuitions. Shopkeepers rub their hands clean of jhalmudi (bhelpuri’s Bengali sibling) and go back to their grocery or general provisions store.

Housewives speed up their cooking, in frantic anticipation of the eight o clock soap. The neighbourhood dog starts moving from this house to the next, looking to arrange the night’s dinner. Badminton matches in the alleys wind up and the scene shifts to the day’s spelling lesson. The elderly sit out on the porch and shake their heads at the peak time traffic. Conch shells blow and the air boasts of agarbatti fragrances as the evening puja is performed. Students try and persuade God to tempt the examiner into writing a 90 on their answer books and Dadi prays the eldest girl in the family is soon married to a suitable groom.

In a while, the orange in the sky will be gone. The dark blues will take over, assisted by faulty streetlights and summer power-cuts. The roads swarm with people returning home. I better get back before Delhi welcomes another night.

39 thoughts on “When the sun goes down…

  1. Pingback: Why Evenings Have Changed | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  2. Pingback: When Shontu came to Chittaranjan Park | Saddi Delhi

  3. Lovely and lively description of a summer evening. I felt like being there myself. πŸ˜€ I envy you for your coming up with such nice, crisp posts. πŸ˜€ I am not being able to write one for a long time.

  4. It’s marvelous to me how you come up with a blog post everyday, and every post proves to be interesting and entertaining. Every post inspires me to update my own blog too. Who knows, maybe someday, when the blue blue moon is shining, maybe I will πŸ˜€

    But seriously, very nice description. And oh, you’ll get even prettier sky pics when the monsoon arrives.

    Best wishes.

    • Thanks a lot Jyoti… πŸ˜€ I am glad you enjoy reading my write-ups… that’s my job done well. πŸ˜€
      The post-every-day thing has to be credited to Valentine’s fever (when I decided to dedicate a week to love) and then the move from Pune. (which made me want to capture as much of the city I could)

      I sure do hope you update your blog soon as well.. would love to read. πŸ˜€
      Oh yes, the monsoons bring such beautiful colours. I am waiting for them. More than three months to go now though.

  5. VEry nice .. you trying to make me HOMESICK as such i am dieing to come over to india and now you put a post like this ….

    beautiful picture πŸ™‚

    thanks you enjoying in delhi then … and the eldest daughter in family are yo uthe one ha ha ha ha πŸ™‚

    • Aww… aren’t you coming over to India soon? I hope you are relieved of the homesickness asap. πŸ˜€

      Thanks Bikram! I have a photography obsession gripping me these days. πŸ˜€

      That’s right. 😦 Sadly it’s my turn to get married now. And there are several interesting things in store. Eee.

  6. darn! missed tops again πŸ˜› no matter! nice photo, Deboshree! beautiful, like Chhavi says! i like jhamudi a lot, but I always like street light badminton.. more fun πŸ˜€

    reached home before Delhi welcomed the night?

    • Tough luck Vinay. πŸ˜›
      Thank you… the sun was beautiful this evening. Ha ha yes street light badminton has its own charm but myopics like me aren’t too excited about it.

      Yep. I reached home in time. Good thing for Mom dearest who epitomizes the kind they made the ‘take a chill pill’ slogan for. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

