Delhi’s mad-weather syndrome

The next time you blame the Indian weather department, remind yourself you’re in a country that has cities like Delhi.

Mom told me over the phone not more than two days ago – they were still needing quilts to sleep at night, geysers had to work overtime. However, when I landed here yesterday, all I could think of was a cold, cold shower. No, it wasn’t the air conditioning effect. Delhi had suddenly turnedΒ hot. I switched on the fan the first thing after reaching home and gave my face a water splash.

The eccentric weather has its own pros and cons. My white kitty below finds it a nuisance – you can’t blame her the grumbling given she’s an old girl now. The flowers on the terrace, however, are enjoying the sun. They are bright and large, decked up in youthful glory.

White cat

Yellow flowers

My desktop also seems to be in for sunstroke. The mouse is dragging and dropping things at his own discretion and the LCDs in my broadband modem are jumping about as if chased by a dozen mosquitoes.

To hell with the shirker. I am getting a book and staying cooped up in my room for the rest of the day. Β Enthusiastic Holi peopleΒ are beating drums outside. Come to think of it, the tortoise slow fan could also do with a good round of beating.

Wish the rest of you had a very Happy Holi! (and I sincerely hope you had a shower before hitting the keyboard) πŸ˜€

40 thoughts on “Delhi’s mad-weather syndrome

  1. Pingback: A Holi Gone By – And What Remains | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  2. Pingback: Sun-bathed « Saddi Delhi

  3. gosh, from first to last πŸ˜› I’ve taken a fall in Delhi I think πŸ˜€ too hot to be conscious? πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ nice look to the new city blog too..

    • Ha ha yes, I will try my best to get all the spice across. πŸ˜€
      Thanks Nuttie! And oh, the Delhi heat will seem more severe this year around given I haven’t experienced it in a while…

    • Belated happy Holi to you too Praveen. πŸ˜€
      Glad you liked the new look!
      Yep, there is something inimitable about Delhi… I hope to live it up as well. πŸ˜€

  4. I absolutely loved this fresh & hot new look of your blog πŸ˜›
    So good to see you reached safe and fine to Delhi πŸ˜€
    What’s your charming cat’s name??
    Hope you had a good time playing Holi πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much CB! πŸ˜€
      Yep I reached safe and sound… even though the luggage conveyor did put up some tantrums.

      Oh the dear is predictably called Chunnu. πŸ˜€ She was indoors for the most part yesterday. She can’t stand a speck of dirt on her white skin. πŸ˜›

  5. Like the new Delhi look template. πŸ™‚

    OOOH !!! I remember a Delhi I landed a decade back on a Holi day and it was freaking hot….u seem to be in the same situation….

    U didnt play color ???? πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Uma. πŸ˜€
      Oh! Totally, I was taken by surprise because I had imagined Delhi would still be cool.

      Nope… no colours for me this Holi. I was dry and safe. πŸ˜€

  6. Nice new look .. looks lovely ..
    Happy holi to you tooo.. hope you had a good one .. I did not even know it was holi .. here in uk ..

    and nice pic .. take care now and all the best at a new place πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ Thanks Bikram!
      I didn’t play Holi either… but the feel was all around. Too bad you miss out on all of this there in UK.

      Really appreciate the wishes Bikram… lets hope the Delhi stay rocks. πŸ˜€

  7. Love the chilli! And the new look. It’s awesome πŸ˜‰
    I guess Delhi is equally hot πŸ˜‰

    My parents are there right now, with my aunt…will return tumoro by train. they went about 2 weeks ago. Guess it’s the right time for them to leave, if its getting hot πŸ˜‰

    Oooh…and Happy Holi, Debs πŸ™‚

    And good luck beating the delhi heat! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Scorpia! πŸ˜€ You bet… Delhi’s hot factor is unquestionable – in all meanings of the word.

      Oh that’s nice… I hope they enjoyed the stay. And indeed, it’s the right climactic setting to leave. πŸ˜€
      Hope you had a fun Holi… and thanks a lot for the ‘cool’ wishes. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. Happy Holi Deboshree…. Don’t worry… you will get accustomed to the Delhi climate….. By the way….. prepare yourself… because it will get hotter in the months to come πŸ™‚

    • Hope you had fun on Holi Chhavi πŸ˜€
      Oh yes, the school-summer-vacation-preponing kind of summer. I am sending in the air conditioner for servicing asap. πŸ˜€

  9. Love the new look. Battling Delhi’s summer is no mean feat. All the best Debo. πŸ˜€ That’s a cute kitty. She seems to be whining about the heat too. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Ajay! πŸ˜€
      Yes, I often pity cats/dogs their fur… though they have their own coping up systems but the fur always reminds me of winter coats and makes me feel they’d be too hot.
      I hope Delhi isn’t Too hot this year. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

