Getting pictures to cure my cold-feet

“These Dhobi Ghat inspired people I tell you.” he teases me every time I gear up to click a random picture. I don’t reply. I smirk or just shovel him around a bit.

He knows how it is. That inexplicable urge to capture every memory in print, to ensure the sights and sounds never fade. I wish there was something to seal the smells too but I am not too deft with perfume bottles.

I leave this Saturday. It feels like an ordeal. There’s X kgs of luggage distributed among three bags and I am freaking out over the possibility of the weight exceeding 20 kilograms. “My son had to pay Rs. 15000 as extra freight charges.” a masi in Delhi tells me. “He was getting me special tea-sets you see.” Eee! I don’t earn that kind of money.

I am also freaking out over other things. How do I say goodbye at the airport? I have never been too good with it. Mom usually turns up to see me off in complete Kiron-Kher-in-Hum-Tum-style (I am fortunate she cuts out the arti ki thali). I manage a cajoling session on those occasions. She’s a darling, Mom is. But these other sort of goodbyes are the ones I am worried about. How do youΒ  see off someone you have gotten so used to that they are a habit? I am keeping my fingers crossed to ensure the stipulated time till I see them next doesn’t exceed the plan. Yikes, I positively detest goodbyes.

So, to workaround the sad part, I am propagating a seamless move. I will be gazing at photographs like the ones below, scanning random times from my stay in Pune. And when I look up from the sunny lanes in the city and the beautiful beaches in Goa, the window will have shifted to the smokey horizons of Delhi.

(click to enlarge)

38 thoughts on “Getting pictures to cure my cold-feet

  1. Pingback: Ten things that 2011 taught me… « Saddi Delhi

  2. Pingback: Making up for lost moments… « Saddi Delhi

    • Yes 😦 they are here to stay it seems…
      I don’t know if you’re glad about reliving your goodbyes but then by now things must have settled down… I wonder when I will be able to say that.

  3. urge to capture every memory in print? I read somewhere about a camera that can be fixed or hanged and it keeps clicking every now and then the surroundings we are and store it πŸ˜‰ you could try it.

  4. Aww..Deboshree :)Beautiful snaps. Lovely description, shows how much you loved your time in Pune and Goa πŸ™‚ All the very best for the next venture.

    • Rang, indeed I did… this was a phase of life I can never forget. The snaps will bring alive this time even years later.
      Thanks a lot for your best wishes! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. I hate goodbyes too. I usually do a quick hug-and-kiss-andturn-around thingie. More like a whiz around πŸ˜€

    And you turned 4 in 2009? Awwwww! Youngest blogger I’ve known πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Oh..so sorry about the math! You turned 5! Yay!
      And how many caes were there!???

      *Jeez. looks and sounds like the only pic i saw is that of the cake(s)!!*I truly LOVED the beach one too.

      • Hee hee there were two. One to eat and another to paste on the face. Friends I tell you. πŸ˜€

        Oh I can understand – let me tell you the cake was delicious! Soft, spongy, yum! πŸ˜€
        LOL thank you… Goa is anyway a delight for anyone with a camera.

    • Ah that whiz around technique sounds good. Deliberating over goodbyes in invariably painful.

      Oh thank you, thank you. Such a pleasure being here with old people like you. πŸ˜€

  6. well send the luggage by train or something and you can take a flight and wait for the train to arrive πŸ™‚ that way you can take everything you want ..

    and mom’s and farewells dont g otogether I now refuse her to come ot delhi to see me off.. it makes everyone sad so i do my bye’s in chandigarh.. and then i have a couple of hours before i reach delhi to compose myself and get ready for the long flight back here …

    • I would have done that had it been feasible Bikram… 😦 there’s no one I can send in a train (with my luggage) you see…

      Aww… that’s a wise thing to do I am sure. No matter how many times goodbyes have happened in the past, Moms invariably get upset. It’s sad for both parties and then on a solitary flight back the images conjure up in all sorts of ways. Sigh! 😦

    • Yes, capturing memories is very essential. Images do fade with time and having them in print is great!
      I am telling myself that it’s the same with me – the ‘loving Delhi as well’ part. πŸ˜€

  7. Awwwww… all the best dear…….. packing! moving! Its horrifying…. But at the same time Saddi Dilli is waiting for you with lots of fun and surprises……. SO cheer up πŸ™‚

  8. Travel in an ac coach then. You will be safe there. And its not like you’ll be travelling over maoist territory so you shouldn’t really worry about attacks. Thing is, the word ‘journey’ makes more sense with trains that flights…

    • To say nothing of how boring flights are. Trains offer so many sights and I love listening to the sound of the engine. Flights offer no green pastures and absolutely nothing to do than what we do cooped up in office anyway.

      Lets see what happens the next time. πŸ˜€

    • I know Reetam, but movies and distressing crime reports are to be blamed for this line of thought.
      Oh but the female rail minister argument is one I haven’t yet tried. Next time I need to use inter-state transport, this is on. πŸ˜€

  9. Oh !!! Its a terrible feeling….moving away from the place u’ve fallen in love with…. 😦 😦

    I just closed my eyes and left without even looking back…I think I shld have captured the good times to make me smile now.

    Hugs to u !!! I pray u find Delhi, keeping a gud eye on u. πŸ™‚

    • Precisely Uma, terrible is right. 😦
      Yes, I have been doing that every moment of this last week. But you know its queer – no amount of photo taking or whatever can ever seem enough. Still, snaps are good for smiling over years later.
      Thanks a big ton…I hope so too. πŸ˜€

  10. Hugs!!

    The uneasy feeling has set in for me as well and I still have a month to go before I leave! πŸ˜€

    All the very best and hope the move goes smooth… πŸ™‚

  11. I used gati for most of my luggage. But then, there was rather a lot of luggage…
    I still had a ridiculous amount that i carried back on my own. In a train.

    • A train is so much better when you have so much luggage to haul. I have said that to my people so many times. But a girl doesn’t travel alone on a train you see. Not that I blame them either.

  12. Hugs girl. I know how it feels πŸ™‚
    I felt so when I moved to Hyd from Blr, and now even the thought of moving away from Hyderabad does this to me!
    Happy and safe moving πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Swaram. πŸ˜€
      Exactly, when I moved here from Delhi I couldn’t believe I was actually doing it… and this time around the feeling is worse.
      Thanks, I so need the wishes. πŸ™‚

  13. Moving home, packing up everything you love to fit the air-travel specifications and goodbyes all can be pretty difficult…I know it too well for we too have done it plenty of times πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Congratulations on being the notable newbie on Blogadda πŸ˜€
    Good luck for everything Deb…you’ll be fine πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Yes CB, it’s a rather uneasy feeling. I wasn’t so uneasy when I moved here from Delhi but then the anticipation probably overshadowed everything else. There’s a lot to look forward to this time as well but Pune is now where the heart is. (or at least a huge portion of it) πŸ˜€

      Oh thank you so much… it does feel good. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

