54 thoughts on “Three days to the goodbye e-mail

  1. To do a post of your own farewell. Brilliant idea.

    I remember my farewell went absolutely unnoticed because I went quietly after my maternity leave. When there is such a huge gap of 3 months and if you resign soon after that, then everybody tends to forget easily.

    But my life was so consumed by the new arrival that I barely noticed that I wasn’t missed so much at an organization where I had spent 5 years of my life.

    LIfe is such.

    • I can understand Anita. Those must have been very busy times, preoccupying even. The new arrival must have brought plenty of joys which pushed farewells behind the shelf. πŸ™‚

  2. How do I submit a blogpost on blog adda. I can’t seem to find it? Help please.

    Also I happen to write for a youth magazine and they are looking for some writers for their pink section. That is why i wanted to know whether you would be interested.

    Let me know. Cheers.

    • Once you are registered Dhanesh, there’s a ‘submit your blog’ link. You can fill in the details and place a badge on your blog. Once accepted and verified, you’re in.

      Oh that’s really nice. Tell me more via this contact form I’ll soon be adding to the blog…:D
      I would love to take it on.

        • Okay like that. Well, I don’t think there’s any such provision on Blogadda. They keep updating those recently-posted blog lists on their homepage.
          You can e-mail them posts you find suitable for their Tuesday and Saturday picks however.

  3. Ya….. I keep receiving these mails all the time….. I don’t even know these people. Yet they say that I have made a difference in their lives and thank me for helping them. I very conveniently choose not to reply to these mails….. he he he

    • Ha ha ha that’s very wise of you. πŸ˜€ I always feel it’s better to be mum when you know you’ll not mean what you say.
      I am like that too – “you have made a difference in my life” is so magnificently double-faced when you haven’t a clue about my life otherwise.

  4. Hah! I have yet to step in the working shoes to experience this. But i get the whole point of meaning the miss you part only for selected people. It happens while leaving your college too. You really know how many you want to keep in touch with and others whom you will never look back to.

    New in here and would loveee your comments on my new post. Indian Humor basically. if gud enuff followup too πŸ™‚

    You got a follower btw.

    • Yep, the ones we know we won’t bother keeping up with (and likewise on their behalf as well) are the people we are formal with. Even if we cut down on the officious tone, the message does come across.

      Thanks for dropping by Redhanded… sure will check out your blog when I’m home for blogspot doesn’t open up at my workplace. 😦

  5. This is my 4th job…and of the three “buhbye” mails I sent, only the one in my first company really meant anything. It was loooong, it was whiny, it was from the heart and it was personalized to each of the 20 ppl there!!
    the other two mails were 2-3 liners with the formal “blah blah” πŸ˜€

    Interesting blog you have here πŸ™‚

    • Ha ha yes, I can understand. The first time around, we don’t know the ropes much. It’s only after a few farewells that we get sharp to the point.
      Personalized to everyone? Wow, that must have been something! πŸ˜€

      Thanks for dropping by Scorpia! πŸ˜€

  6. I never seem to miss “Working” per se. But it is just me. Good riddance debo, have fun and bon voyage.

    P.S: I have to mail you something. Leave me a blank mail on my id(online.dhanesh@gmail.com).

  7. Gud luck on the move.
    I have to write one such mail in a few days time too πŸ™‚ Send me urs, I will nt forget to change my name after copying the contents, pakka πŸ˜›

  8. You won’t realize what you will miss unless you are a month or two out of it πŸ™‚ Trust me on that !! And thats gonna be a bit of surprise too πŸ˜‰

    good luck !
    Where next lady ?
    I will be keeping a track though πŸ™‚

  9. or in my case i am sure if i sent a email it will be GOOD RIDDANCE πŸ™‚ that i get back…

    and Yeah i agree with CB above short and sweet .. does the trick.. πŸ™‚

  10. Copying an email..that too sent to all in the same office is definitely a very bad idea πŸ‘Ώ
    It’s wise to keep the thanksgiving short and honest (as far as practically possible ;))
    Good luck Deboshree in all you do πŸ˜›

  11. Hmm.. yes, I agree with that cafeteria food and the cheery pink bottles part πŸ˜› I think those would be memories that would be forgotten soonest. Leaves the question “what to remember” πŸ˜€

    I’m quite pally with my colleagues, we’re a tight bunch, but I guess it’ll just be a formal goodbye when the time comes for me to leave πŸ˜› 3rd day countdown begins? πŸ˜‰

    • Ha yes, “what to remember” is indeed a thought to ponder over. But then, our mind doesn’t need instruction in this regard does it? πŸ˜€

      I agree Vinay, bidding adieu is a time you suddenly come to several realizations – as I have been arriving at lately. Yep, 3rd day countdown has begun and in no time will be over. I am rather confused about the emoticon I should insert. πŸ™‚ or 😦 ?

      • this Saturday? then how long will it take for u after reaching there to blog? πŸ˜‰ 5 mins? πŸ˜€ or from the airport itself Deboshree? πŸ˜€

        • I’ll be blogging in the office elevator of course Vinay! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

          I haven’t yet confirmed a title in my mind… and there needs to be a new look. Plenty of house-keeping work is in store. πŸ˜›

What do you think?

