The Old Shoe

The old shoe

All worn and torn there he sits,
with his sole near ripped apart,
the erstwhile gloss now in bits,
his strings no longer smart.

With his sole near ripped apart,
he whimpers, threatening to die,
his strings no longer smart,
repair is a humongous lie.

He whimpers, threatening to die,
with pain he doubles up oft,
repair is a humongous lie,
he retires hence, to the loft.

With pain he doubles up oft,
the erstwhile gloss now in bits,
he retires hence, to the loft,
all worn and torn there he sits.


Style: A loose “Pantoum”

Muse: My old black shoes, one of whose pair I lost to a trench.

Musing: I have become paranoid about shoes here in Pune. Two pairs have frayed, a heel has broken, a sandal has twisted. Does Pune have a shoe biting monster? Or does Pune enjoy the sight of a shoe bite on my feet?

Now now, as long as I have the luxury of a new pair post every tragedy, I don’t really need that answered.

20 thoughts on “The Old Shoe

  1. πŸ˜† shoe biting monster πŸ˜†
    When I was a kid I used to suffer from frequent shoe bites, at that time my mind resonated your thoughts of the existence of a shoe biting monster πŸ˜€
    Loved the sweet poetic notes of the ‘the old shoe
    Take care πŸ˜›

What do you think?

