What a Wonderful World!

Posted on

What a wonderful world!

There are clothes on the chair, skydiving from both sides of it. They have been there for a while. Bedsheets, jeans, shirts, the works. Oh, they aren’t mine. They belong to the good people I share my room with. Personally I think, they add a lot of colour to the place. There is a bright orange towel, a grey dolphin, even a huge parrot-green laundry bag. Every time I see my own purple laundry bag, I am reminded of the tasks to be accomplished. No clothes have been washed in about a week; there are several to be laundered. The bed could do with a new pillow-cover. But anyhow, the point is: though there are thirty nine things I need to do about my den, I am beyond them now.

No, I haven’t achieved nirvana. In fact, *temptation alert* I look forward to a scrumptious dinner tomorrow. Loaded with all things I like, right from panipuri to ice-cream and jelly. I have earned them you see, much like a Bourneville bar. After all, I am the one who puts up with R’s tantrums day in and day out. But of course, I am also the one blessed to be the muse of his rhymes. If truth be told, I am the whining girl with an issue always up her sleeve, an elaborate description of which he has no choice but to listen to. His tantrums usually limit themselves to sane complaints like: “don’t you think we should not walk about in heavy rain?”

I beam when I see little children on a giant wheel. I also see the queue going all the way to the gate. I chuckle when the man whirls and twirls sugar candy and dishes it out to a young father and daughter. Irrespective of how he isn’t wearing gloves. I can spend an afternoon critiquing a bad movie or book. Even if we had originally planned to spend time reading. On his part, R buys me a ticket to that creaking giant wheel and a pair of sugar candies. He also lends active, if chuckling, punctuation support to my err, monologue.

The crux of my loud thinking is this: R, only I know what I often subject you to. Thank you for bearing with me, never (okay, infrequently) losing your patience when I go on harping about this and that and generally being my solace in this big, bad world. For all the cynicism the world sees in me, when I am with you, everything is as fine as the golden sun in the spring sky. I love you.

“I see trees of green, red roses too…
I see them bloom, for me and for you.
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, clouds of white, 
Bright blessed days, dark sacred nights
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.”

27.6.12 Happy Anniversary, R. 

*Title/Song Credit: Bob Thiele
About Deboshree

~D.B. The one who loves to cook up abstract stories about all and sundry.

34 responses »

  1. Pingback: This time, that year | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 2012! | Of Paneer, Pulao and Pune

  3. Belated anniversary wishes, Debo! :) Hope you guys had a nice time :)

    Reply
  4. Mess all around yet you ignore every bit of it and is engrossed in publishing your new post! True Blogger… Nice poetry to sum up!

    Reply
  5. That was a super cute post! May you always be blessed :) Happy Anniversary Debs!

    Reply
  6. Happy Anniversary, Deboshree. And for my wishes for the many more anniversaries to come and colours to brighten them.

    Reply
  7. it’s a nice way to sum up your anniversary :)

    happy anniversary to you and R…may you have wonderful years ahead :)

    Reply
  8. Happy Anniversary baby :)
    muaah!!

    Reply
  9. Wish you a very happy anniversary and many more years of togetherness… :)

    Reply
  10. Awww… :)
    Happy Anniversary, R & Deb, and may you both be blessed with many more dazzling years!!! :)

    Reply
  11. Love the way you summed it up! :) Do we share anniversaries? Nope, think miss it by a day or so…

    Happy anniversary to both of you! :) Wish u many many more happy years ahead….

    Reply
  12. Happy happy anniversary to you both.. and now I am sure you will agree

    PARTYyyyyyyyyuyy time….. How was dinner. I mean tell us after you have had it.

    Reply
  13. Happy Anniversary Deboshree :)

    Reply
  14. happy anniversary dear.. may god shower his choicest blessings on you.. :)

    Reply
  15. Happy anniversary and hope the happiness goes on and on. :)

    Reply
  16. How sweet, may the world retain its wonder always for you :)
    Stay happy always! And very happy anniversary!

    Reply
  17. ahem ahem… a very cute post Deboshree… speaks so much about the bright colors of your relation. *Touchwood*
    Happy Anniversary to you two… have a beautiful day

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers