Black Magic, anyone?

Posted on

 

There were lemons outside her door. Little bright yellow ones, clean and freshly washed.

“Please tell me we will now have lemonade in the morning, instead of milk.” her teenage son implored, picking up one of the lemons with interest.

“That would be great indeed Mom.” his sister piped in, “we can even have lemon tarts instead of corn flakes!”

Her husband looked up from the newspaper. “Why did you buy so many of these sweetheart? Seems to me you bought the whole barrow.”

She scowled, shaking the lemon off her son’s hand. “Don’t you touch them! And we are certainly not using these. I will throw them into the rubbish heap right now.”

“Are you insane?” her husband rushed to her as she proceeded to wear hand gloves. “I was just pulling your leg… I can understand you must have got these very cheap. Or complimentary with some vegetables perhaps?”

“Listen.” she hauled down a large black polybag from the overhead shelf. “I didn’t purchase these. I am as surprised to see them lining up our doorway this morning as you are.”

The siblings glanced at each other. This seemed to one practical joke in the house that they hadn’t any involvement in.

“Do you think someone forgot these here? He may have waited at the porch to tie his shoelaces or something you know…” the daughter began.

“Ha indeed!” the son snorted, “as if someone could forget so many lemons just like that. And was he carrying them one by one?” He shook his head ominously. “No, it seems to me someone dropped them here on purpose.”

Her husband stared anxiously at her growing symptoms of oncoming hysteria. “No, no darling. Don’t even get started on black magic nonsense. We live in Delhi, not village number 345 of the world’s best abandoned town.”

“Very well.” she took a deep breath in, glaring sideways at the immobile lemons. “Let them lie there and do nothing. But if you have the slightest sense in the world, keep your fingers crossed for safety!”

It would have interested a bystander to be in their house the next morning. The milkman didn’t turn up and the reserve packet of corn flakes magically disappeared. A curious pair of child-like eyes grinning at the window went unnoticed.

The spell didn’t spare a soul – the lady, her husband and her two children were found to have yellowed in colouring by people at their respective schools and offices. It wasn’t a wonder, given the lemonade, lemon tarts and lemon-syruped tea they had feasted on for breakfast.

– –

My Granny – the warrior of the house against burglars, insects and the weather apart from the sundry issues of domestic life, does not believe in black magic. Having grown up with her all my childhood, I have an almost cynical stance at the subject. Something set me thinking the other evening. I heard that some mish-mash written behind a photograph has led to breaking walls in a house. Not literally, but you get the idea.

Interesting, don’t you think? Photographs of this age are subtle home breakers. We can actually do without all those vamps (with their sinister music tracks) plotting for entire episodes to arrive at the ideal deriding-the-heroine trick. What a breakthrough.

Anyhow, I believe this is one of those subjects in which we tend to lose our superstitious/not decision. Why take  a risk when loved ones are at stake?

Do you believe in black magic?

About Deboshree

~D.B. The one who loves to cook up abstract stories about all and sundry.

31 responses »

  1. oh well, even if u don’t believe and think them to be fiction, might as well give a supportive role if someone else does believe in them and doesn’t want to be forced in to it. :)

    is the lemon story true? or an exciting part of Deboshree’s imagination? ;)

    Reply
    • Of course Vinay. Faith is something we can’t argue with. If someone says his faith is behind his actions, then no matter how horrendous the action, arguing against the same can be tough. :D
      Ha ha the lemon story is partly true, partly imagined. I didn’t write a more exact account fearing a particular reader. :D

      Reply
  2. Very interesting to think about. But I say if you believe in God, you have to believe in black magic. Personally I am an atheist and so do not believe in black magic either. I like the stories behind our superstitions but only from a fictional point of view :) But I believe that our energies affect each other. Just like happiness and sadness is infectious.

    Reply
    • Exactly Dhaami… there are always two sides to a coin. So we can’t believe in God and not in an evil force. Even about energies, we have to believe in a negative energy if we believe in a positive one. They go together.
      Oh yes, from a fictional point of view the stories are a lot of fun… interesting and full of twists and turns. :D

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Black Magic, anyone? (via Saddi Delhi) | Think Once…..!!

  4. When life drops lemons at your doorsteps, make lemonade. And add a bit of rock salt. Salt kills germs so it should kill some magic too. Otherwise, take Hajmola and digest the black magic.

    Reply
    • Yes salt kills magic I believe… isn’t there some saying about dropping salt down the devil’s neck? :P
      Hajmola is that potent eh? Thanks for the tip! :D

      Reply
  5. very interesting topic indeed. no I dont believe in any of these. I have a very rational and scientific approach to everything.
    With so many lemons will sure make lemon tart or lemon cheese cake…yummy way to use the lemons :)

    Reply
  6. I’ve never given it much thot – suddenly a flat-mate some 6 yrs back, told me of such sinister stories that happened to her, becos of her mil…..and I was wary of visiting her after that….
    When ppl talk abt it with such conviction, I just leave it to them to believe for they dont listen to logic those times.
    So, eventually u tend to stay away from such things, when they dont feel right to u.

    Reply
    • Hmm. That’s interesting Uma. I too have come across such people very often… actually, even in ordinary subjects, when we strongly believe a point, we tend to argue it out – sometimes even illogically.
      Staying away is a good idea I guess. Something like the golden mean. :D

      Reply
  7. I am not sure… its the unknown for me. But, yes, I am scared and I would take precautions, becuase it’s something I don’t know or quite understand…
    Does that make any sense?!

    Reply
    • It sure does. The unknown is the scariest entity… how can we predict the unknown?
      But then, even the precautions we take to combat the unknown are based on heresy.

      Reply
  8. I don’t believe in Balck magic, but my parents do. If they find lemon in front of their door, like the way in the post, they would immediately run to find a black magic fellow to deactive the curse that comes with the lemon. But I would not mind making a lemon juice with it.

    Reply
  9. Well, as a child all these things used to fascinate me. But now, I know these things are nothing but hokum. Why blame an innocent heap of lemons or a beautiful picture of some far unknown land for the harm that befalls you and your family?

    Reply
  10. I don’t believe in black magic, but I am superstitious after my daughter was born. sometimes she cries for no reason and my MIL remove her nazar and with in no time she is all good..I didn’t believe it for so long…

    Reply
    • Oh yes this nazar utarna is such a wisespread practice. Ma,despite all her non believing stance, does it for me each Saturday.
      I guess when emotions come in, all of us tend to be what they can label superstitious.

      Reply
  11. Nope. I dont believe in them, and I never will. :D
    I love lemonade and lemon tea!

    Reply
  12. Whats wrong with black people performing magic?. You are not racist are you deboshree?

    Many of the things that you think are black magic have scientific reason’s behind it. But you know humans, they need impetus from god even to lift their arse. Hence folks created mumbo jumbo.

    My grandmom was a teacher and she explained me the reasons behind any thing which sounded superstitious.

    Reply
    • Ha ha good one Dhanesh. Though I needn’t tell you I believe, that it’s the magic which is black here. The magic that has black results no matter how princess-fair the hands performing it are. :D

      Oh true. We are experts in creating mumbo jumbo. And I will be the first one to accept your scientific reason. But then, there have been cases – believers argue – when no reason has been found.

      Your granny sounds like mine. :D

      Reply
  13. Do I believe in it? Yes, I guess, because I’m scared of it. And I wouldn’t be scared if I didn’t believe.
    Well, we have a relative, a very close one, who believes in leaving ‘stuff’ in our cupboards whenever she visits. and there have been instances in our family when people have fallen dangerously sick, without doctors understanding why. so can’t help it if all that makes one wonder and fear and believe.

    Reply
    • Ah. Yes, being scared is equivalent to believing something exists.
      That relative of yours does seem suspicious. I guess one could associate the instances of illness to some natural cause – sometimes no doctor can pinpoint the reason behind the weird reactions your body has to x and y. But too many times the same story repeats and you’re bound to smell a rat.
      Thanks for sharing your bit Jyoti! :D

      Reply
  14. Sometimes we want to believe in Magic – and Black Magic is other side of the coin. I personally do believe in Magic (isn’t it a magic the way human body and mind works, and isn’t it a magic that at one moment it stops working!) – but I don’t believe in Black Magic. Somehow I accept decay, destruction, death and fear associated with it as part of life!

    Reply
    • That’s an interesting explanation. Magic is indeed all around us. Everything we do, the thoughts we think, the words that make us laugh and sing out… it’s all magical.
      Yep, the aftermath of what we call black magic may actually be a part of the course of life. No one said life has to be bright and cheery always.
      Thanks for that POV Aativas! :D

      Reply
  15. I am not superstitious, but I believe in staying away from such stuffs :P

    Reply
  16. Well I dont beleive in it , But i do beleive in it .. if you know what i mean its one of those things that we go through life .. sometimes something will happen if its good we forget but if its bad we start to find reasons and thus come all these notions .. this mingh happen that might have happened .. and so on

    What do you beleive in :)

    Bikram’s

    Reply
    • Whoa, you got me confused. :D But I have to agree with you… if such things happen in association with people/stuff we care about, we tend to think – why take a risk.
      I don’t believe in all this. But considering I do believe in God, that’s like believing in a higher and inexplicable power as well.

      Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers